Let the Devil Sleep

Also available in: Spanish

Synopsis of Let the Devil Sleep

In Let the Devil Sleep, the most decorated homicide detective in NYPD history, Dave Gurney is still trying to adjust to his life of quasi-retirement in upstate New York.

Then a young woman who is producing a documentary on a notorious murder spree seeks his counsel.

Soon after, Gurney begins feeling threatened: a razor-sharp hunting arrow lands in his yard, and he narrowly escapes serious injury in a booby-trapped basement.

As things grow more bizarre, he finds himself reexamining the case of The Good Shepherd, which ten years before involved a series of roadside shootings and a rage-against-the-rich manifesto.

The killings ceased, and a cult of analysis grew up around the case with a consensus opinion that no one would dream of challenging — no one, that is, but Dave Gurney.

Mocked even by some who’d been his supporters in previous investigations, Dave realizes that the killer is too clever to ever be found.

The only gambit that may make sense is also the most dangerous – to make himself a target and get the killer to come to him.

To survive, Gurney must rely on three allies: his beloved wife Madeleine, impressively intuitive and a beacon of light in the gathering darkness.

His de-facto investigative “partner” Jack Hardwick, always ready to spit in authority’s face but wily when it counts; and his son Kyle, who has come back into Gurney’s life with surprising force, love and loyalty.

Synopsis of Let the Devil Sleep taken from Amazon

Review of Let the Devil Sleep

Very good, just like the previous two by Verdon. Once you get over the suprise of the originality of “Think of a Number“, the level is kept quite high. Though the story is not, in itself, very original, it’s very well carried out. The suspense is kept throughout the novel and, unlike the other ones, I wasn’t able to point to the murderer until the end; I even doubted some characters that turned out to be the complete opposite.

I’d very much recommend it. I await the next one.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp
Series:  David Gurney; 3

Publisher: Penguin Books
Year 2013
ISBN 9780141960173

Language: English
Format: eBook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *