The Silent Wife

Also available in: Spanish

4 / 5. Votos: 1

Synopsis of The Silent Wife

Investigating the killing of a prisoner during a riot inside a state penitentiary, GBI investigator Will Trent is confronted with disturbing information.

One of the inmates claims that he is innocent of a brutal attack for which he has always been the prime suspect. The man insists that he was framed by a corrupt law enforcement team led by Jeffrey Tolliver and that the real culprit is still out there—a serial killer who has systematically been preying on women across the state for years.

If Will reopens the investigation and implicates the dead police officer with a hero’s reputation of wrongdoing, the opportunistic convict is willing to provide the information GBI needs about the riot murder.

Only days ago, another young woman was viciously murdered in a state park in northern Georgia. Is it a fluke, or could there be a serial killer on the loose?

As Will Trent digs into both crimes it becomes clear that he must solve the cold case in order to find the answer. Yet nearly a decade has passed—time for memories to fade, witnesses to vanish, evidence to disappear, and lies to become truth.

But Will can’t crack either mystery without the help of the one person he doesn’t want involved: his girlfriend and Jeffrey Tolliver’s widow, medical examiner Sara Linton.

In The Silent Wife, the past and present begin to collide and Will realizes that everything he values is at stake . . .

Synopsis of The Silent Wife taken from Amazon

The Silent Wife review, by Karin Slaughter

I have liked this lady’s novels since I read the first one back in 2000. I think the first one I read was the fifth in the Grant County series and I liked it so much that I bought the rest of the series in English. And then I read them in order, starting with the first one, Blindsighted.

I was disappointed when Slaughter took out the lead character, Jeffrey Tolliver, in the sixth one. I wondered, what is she going to write now? Well, from what it seems the real protagonist was Sara Linton and it’s she who continues the series, moved to Atlanta, due to her relationship with Will Trent. The novels in this series are just as good as those in the other one.

Will Trent is a special agent for GBI (Georgia Bureau of Investigation, like the FBI but at the state level). The characters in this series are very good, especially the boss, Amanda. It’s based less on the romantic relationship of the protagonists (Sara and Will), although there’s a lot of that, and more in the cases that are investigated.

In the present case, The Silent Wife, although the story is very good, I, as a good connoisseur of the characters from the previous series, immediately realized who the murderer was. It’s also true that I didn’t get it until almost halfway through the novel.

The Plot

The plot of The Silent Wife, as I said, is good, as always. It’s one of those that is a pleasure to read, even if the content is unpleasant. Well, that happens with all novels of the genre, unless you are a psychopath and you take the side of the murderer.

What disappointed me the most was that when I realized who “the psycho” was, actually, long before the GBI, the only thing that kept my interest is how it was going to end.

I’m not going to say it. The ending, if you know what I knew, is predictable and logical. The love story between Will and Sara is the least interesting part.

In short: The Silent Wife is highly recommended and waiting for the next one, even if I guess who the bad guy is again.

Series:  Will Trent; 10

Publisher:  HarperCollins
Year:  2020

Language:  English
Format:  eBook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top